2024 Helen Hayes Nominations - The Theatre Lab

We are honored to congratulate the following Theatre Lab alumni and faculty on their 2024 Helen Hayes Award Nominations! The Helen Hayes Awards acknowledge exceptional accomplishments in professional theaters and among theatre creators throughout the Washington, DC region. Named in honor of the iconic First Lady of the American Theatre, Helen Hayes, these awards applaud the artists and organizations whose contributions contribute to making the Washington, DC area a vibrant and nationally acclaimed theater community.

This is the first year that TWO of our students have been nominated for outstanding performances. At The Theatre Lab, we believe that high-level theatre training should be accessible to all. We would not be where we are today without our talented instructors and students who dedicate themselves to the power of theatre education. The Helen Hayes Award Ceremony will take place on Monday, May 22, 2024 at The Anthem in Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical

Anna Phillips Brown (Teen Alumni) – Jimmy Buffett’s Escape to Margaritaville, Toby’s Dinner Theatre

Bobby Smith (Adult Faculty) – Fun Home, Studio Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Performer in a Play

Craig Wallace (Adult Faculty) – August Wilson’s Radio Golf, Round House Theatre

Jacob Yeh (Honors Acting Conservatory Graduate) – King of the Yees, Signature Theatre

Jacob Yeh (Honors Acting Conservatory Graduate) – How the Light Gets In, 1st Stage Theatre

Outstanding Choreography in a Play

Casey Kaleba (Adult Faculty) – Kill the Ripper, We Happy Few

Outstanding Lighting Design in a Play

Helen Garcia-Alton (Student Alumni) – How the Light Gets In, 1st Stage Theatre

Outstanding Ensemble in a Play – How the Light Gets In (10 Nominations)

Tonya Beckman (Adult Faculty) 
Madeleine Regina (Adult and Youth Faculty) 
Jacob Yeh (Honors Acting Conservatory Graduate)
How the Light Gets In (10 nominations) 
The cast featured two Theatre Lab faculty members and an Honors graduate in three of the four roles!

***And a special shoutout to Kate Poms (Youth Faculty). Kate was the casting director for The Honey Trap, Solas Nua, which received 10 nominations!




We use cookies to improve your experience and deliver personalized content. View Cookie Settings